Waves

IMG_20140811_163633

My son Itai is a very energetic young boy. He just turned 11 and all day long he is out with friends – Soccer, Handball, Tennis, Ping Pong, Pool, Skateboard and whatever means out and free.

He just finished two weeks of surfing camp which were not easy at all. He came back home tired, with red hands, and with blue signs of surfboard unintended collisions. Immediately after finishing the camp, he ask me to take him to the beach to show me what he learned.

We went to the beach. It was afternoon. The sea was rough. My kid entered the water with a huge board. The waves were vicious and broke on him again and again. He held the surf board in one hand by its leash and stepped forward against the waves. Every wave took him back for a meter or two, and in between the waves he was trying to move forward fast and far enough so he would be able to catch a wave and ride it. It was not easy, but he did not give up, and eventually he was able to catch few ones. I was so proud of him.

I was looking at my son braving his way through the waves and I thought about us all. Trying to manage our way in the sea, against the waves. Trying to move forward against the tide, and sometimes with persistence, perseverance and a bit of luck we catch the right wave for a wonderful, fulfilling and joyful ride. Keep on going my friend, more waves are coming for those who won’t give up. 

Above is a picture of the fighter. 

2 thoughts on “Waves

  1. Thanks for an even more inspiring than the usual post. I truly enjoyed every word .

    Nurit Shevi Creator & CEO mximo.com

    >

Leave a comment